CAUTION: WIDE CALVES!

Yes, I am a big girl with big calves. Sometimes it’s kind of hard to accept the fact that I can’t fit into or pull off clothes that all the skinny girls wear. I have a shopping problem; I LOVE CLOTHES. Especially shoes. Holy cow shoes are my favorite. But when it comes to buying boots, it can be kind of a downer.

Sooo I’m a size 8 in shoes,but when it comes to boot buying that’s a whole different ball game. My calves don’t always allow me to fit into the knee high boots that are all the rage, so sometimes I have to go up a size just to fit into them all the way. Then that turns into me tripping over my own feet because my shoes are too big. (Duh captain obvious!)

I always get discouraged and give up on boots and move on to something else. This sounds completely insane right? Am I really being extremely self conscious over a pair of boots? You’re right it sounds insane- until it hits you that you can’t fit into a pair of shoes because of your calves. Then the whole over-thinking -my-body-image thing comes back to haunt me again. I’m NOT saying that girls with big calves aren’t absolutely gorgeous, but when I see “wide calf fit” and they fit me, that doesn’t make me feel very good about myself. Ya know?

One day I went to go pull a box of shoes off a shelf and another one proceeded to hit me in the face. After cursing at the box I became curious…sitting in that box was the cutest, dreamiest pair of boots I’ve ever seen!! But there was a catch…they were wide calf boots…Do I dare try them on?

I took a second and set aside my weird obsession with hating anything associated with the word “wide,” because these were seriously the cutest things I’ve ever seen! I tried them on!! *GASP* These boots fit incredibly well and they were my size AND they go with everything!! I pranced around the store for a solid 20 minutes before an associate asked if I was going to buy them…whoops! I bought them of course…but it’s amazing how good a pair of boots make me feel about myself even if they are a wide calf fit.

I’m not saying that you should develop an unhealthy obsession with clothes and buy things that make you feel better about yourself, but you should feel good in the things you wear and not feel ashamed of the size or label that shows up on your clothes. If you buy a shirt that is a 2x or maybe a pair of jeans that are an 18 curvy fit who cares? If you shop in the plus sized section, who cares?  As long as you feel beautiful and amazing in the things you wear, that’s all that really matters.

One comment

  1. Crystal · February 22, 2016

    I have definitely felt this way before. I got my first pair of boots from torrid back when furry boots were in. I was in high school and I remember thinking I would never be able to wear cute fashionable shoes like other girls because of my wide feet and calves, but I was wrong. Getting those white furry boots gave me a much needed confidence boost. I think sometimes changing your clothes or your style can change your entire mindset and I don’t think there’s anything wrong with that.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

